SAME Aster 60 (DT) or SAME Explorer 60 II (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 II (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SAME Aster 60 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 23% (520 kg / 1,146 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SAME Aster 60 (DT) and SAME Explorer 60 II (DT), with the call on each
QuestionAster 60 (DT)Explorer 60 II (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 II (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 II (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 II (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?29.0 L/min (7.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”28.5 L/min (7.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”2,280 kg (5,027 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”AheadThe SAME Aster 60 (DT) has 23% more lift (520 kg / 1,146 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 II (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”2,540 kg (5,600 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Explorer 60 II (DT) is 13% heavier (290 kg / 639 lb) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 II (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”15 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 II (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”540/540E/1000E/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer II 60”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1989–19961989–1998EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Aster 60 (DT) has 23% more lift (520 kg / 1,146 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 II (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Explorer 60 II (DT) is 13% heavier (290 kg / 639 lb) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 II (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources