SAME Aster 60 (DT) or SAME Explorer 60 (DT)?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The SAME Aster 60 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 23% (530 kg / 1,168 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Aster 60 (DT) | Explorer 60 (DT) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 (DT). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 (DT). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 29.0 L/min (7.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Explorer 60 (DT). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 2,270 kg (5,004 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | AheadThe SAME Aster 60 (DT) has 23% more lift (530 kg / 1,168 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 2,540 kg (5,600 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Explorer 60 (DT) is 13% heavier (290 kg / 639 lb) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 (DT). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Aster 60 (DT) and the Explorer 60 (DT). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1989–1996 | 1986–1990 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The SAME Aster 60 (DT) has 23% more lift (530 kg / 1,168 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The SAME Explorer 60 (DT) is 13% heavier (290 kg / 639 lb) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources