Massey Ferguson MF 240 or UTB 445 DTC?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the UTB 445 DTC: hydraulic flow.

  • The UTB 445 DTC suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 10% (2.0 L/min / 0.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Massey Ferguson MF 240 and UTB 445 DTC, with the call on each
QuestionMF 240445 DTCCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?27.7 kW (37.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”27.2 kW (36.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MF 240 and the 445 DTC.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the MF 240 and the 445 DTC.
Which pumps more oil for implements?19.8 L/min (5.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”AheadThe UTB 445 DTC has 10% more hydraulic flow (2.0 L/min / 0.5 gpm) than the Massey Ferguson 240 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,430 kg (3,153 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”1,450 kg (3,197 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,780 kg (3,924 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”2,200 kg (4,850 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The UTB 445 DTC is 24% heavier (420 kg / 926 lb) than the Massey Ferguson 240 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the MF 240 and the 445 DTC.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”6 to 9Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MF 240 and the 445 DTC.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the MF 240 and the 445 DTC.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 240”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “UTB U 445 DT”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1982–19851974–1981Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Massey Ferguson 240 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The UTB 445 DTC has 10% more hydraulic flow (2.0 L/min / 0.5 gpm) than the Massey Ferguson 240 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The UTB 445 DTC is 24% heavier (420 kg / 926 lb) than the Massey Ferguson 240 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Massey Ferguson 240 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources