MAN Werk München 4P1 or Steyr 40, 40h, 40a?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 4P1 | 40, 40h, 40a | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 25.7 kW (35 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 25.8 kW (34.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 4P1 and the 40, 40h, 40a. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4P1 and the 40, 40h, 40a. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 23.0 L/min (6.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 4P1. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 1,200 kg (2,646 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 1,350 kg (2,976 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 4P1: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1”); the 40, 40h, 40a: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 1,920 kg (4,233 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 1,870 kg (4,123 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 2,850 kg (6,283 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 8Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | YesTraktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 40, 40h, 40a. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 19.9 km/h (12.4 mph) to 28.3 km/h (17.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 28 km/h (17.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 1520Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the 4P1. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 4P1. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1960–1963 | 1967–1977 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Steyr 40, 40h, 40a is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Steyr 40, 40h, 40a is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on three-point lift: the 4P1: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “MAN 4P1”); the 40, 40h, 40a: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 40”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources