Leyland 154 or Nuffield 4/25 (425)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 154 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Leyland 154 and Nuffield 4/25 (425), with the call on each
Question1544/25 (425)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?18.6 kW (24.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”18.6 kW (24.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 154 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 154 and the 4/25 (425).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 154 and the 4/25 (425).
Which pumps more oil for implements?14.5 L/min (3.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”14.5 L/min (3.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?454 kg (1,001 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”454 kg (1,001 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,007 kg (2,220 lb) to 1,032 kg (2,275 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”1,007 kg (2,220 lb) to 1,056 kg (2,328 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 154 and the 4/25 (425).
Which has the wider choice of gears?9Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”9Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 154 and the 4/25 (425).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 154 and the 4/25 (425).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Leyland 154”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1969–19721968–1969EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 154 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources