John Deere Model A or Schlüter DMZ 25?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DMZ 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere Model A and Schlüter DMZ 25, with the call on each
QuestionModel ADMZ 25Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?18.4 kW (24.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”18.4 kW (24.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DMZ 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,841 kg (4,059 lb) to 2,715 kg (5,986 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”1,800 kg (3,968 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”4Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Model A and the DMZ 25.
Which is faster on the road?10 km/h (6.2 mph) to 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?546 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Model A.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the DMZ 25.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DZM 25”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1934–19521937–1942EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DMZ 25 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources