John Deere Model A or John Deere General Purpose?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the General Purpose has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere Model A suits road haulage better on this data: 43% (3.0 km/h / 1.9 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere Model A and John Deere General Purpose, with the call on each
QuestionModel AGeneral PurposeCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?18.4 kW (24.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”18.6 kW (24.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the General Purpose has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,841 kg (4,059 lb) to 2,715 kg (5,986 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”1,935 kg (4,266 lb) to 2,234 kg (4,925 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”3Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which is faster on the road?10 km/h (6.2 mph) to 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”7.0 km/h (4.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”AheadThe John Deere Model A has 43% more top speed (3.0 km/h / 1.9 mph) than the John Deere General Purpose (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?546 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”520 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Model A and the General Purpose.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is dependent.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell A”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell GP”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1934–19521928–1935Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere Model A is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere Model A has 43% more top speed (3.0 km/h / 1.9 mph) than the John Deere General Purpose (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere Model A is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is dependent.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Model A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the General Purpose has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO speeds.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources