John Deere 8330 or John Deere 8430?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 8330 and John Deere 8430, with the call on each
Question83308430Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?185.49 kW (248.75 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”203.9 kW (273.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 8330 and the 8430.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 8330 and the 8430.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8330 and the 8430.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?10,788 kg (23,783 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”11,762 kg (25,931 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?10,572 kg (23,307 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”11,260 kg (24,824 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the John Deere 8330 has 16 forward gears and the John Deere 8430 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 8330 and the 8430.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 8430.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8330”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8430”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2006–20092006–2009EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Transmissions differ in kind: the John Deere 8330 has 16 forward gears and the John Deere 8430 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources