John Deere 7710 or John Deere 7810?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 7810: power at the PTO shaft.
- The John Deere 7810 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: 10% (11.0 kW / 14.8 hp) more power at the PTO shaft.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 7710 | 7810 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 112.9 kW (151.4 hp)OECD Test 1709 | 123.9 kW (166.2 hp)OECD Test 1713 | AheadThe John Deere 7810 has 10% more power at the PTO (11.0 kW / 14.8 hp) than the John Deere 7710 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power). |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 7710 and the 7810. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 102.5 kW (137.5 hp)OECD Test 1709 | 110.8 kW (148.6 hp)OECD Test 1713 | EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 101.4 L/min (26.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | 101.8 L/min (26.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7810” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7710 and the 7810. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 6,023 kg (13,278 lb) to 7,007 kg (15,448 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | 6,611 kg (14,575 lb) to 7,060 kg (15,565 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7810” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 11,500 kg (25,353 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | 11,500 kg (25,353 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7810” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 16OECD test report 1709, 1997 | 19OECD test report 1714, 1997 | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710 and the 7810. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 7710 and the 7810. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7810” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1709, 1997 | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1713, 1997 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7710 and the 7810. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7810” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1997–2003 | 1997–2003 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 7810 has 10% more power at the PTO (11.0 kW / 14.8 hp) than the John Deere 7710 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power).
- Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710 and the 7810.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources