John Deere 6430 Premium or John Deere 7410?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6430 Premium: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”); the 7410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1750) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 6430 Premium | 7410 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 82.5 kW (110.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 81.6 kW (109.4 hp)OECD Test 1750 | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6430 Premium: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”); the 7410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1750) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium and the 7410. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | 73.2 kW (98.2 hp)OECD Test 1750 | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 101.8 L/min (26.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 6,020 kg (13,272 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7410. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 4,735 kg (10,439 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 5,212 kg (11,490 lb) to 5,778 kg (12,738 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 7410 is 10% heavier (477 kg / 1,052 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 7410. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 24Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 12OECD test report 1750, 1998 | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7410. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6430 Premium and the 7410. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1751, 1998 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7410. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P” | 4WDOECD test report 1750, 1998; OECD test report 1751, 1998; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 2006–2011 | 1997–2002 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6430 Premium is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 7410 is 10% heavier (477 kg / 1,052 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 6430 Premium is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6430 Premium: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”); the 7410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1750) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7410.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources