John Deere 6430 Premium or John Deere 6620?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6430 Premium has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 6620 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 26% (1,580 kg / 3,483 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 6430 Premium and John Deere 6620, with the call on each
Question6430 Premium6620Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?92 kW (123 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”92 kW (123 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6430 Premium has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium and the 6620.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium and the 6620.
Which pumps more oil for implements?——No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6430 Premium and the 6620.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,020 kg (13,272 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”7,600 kg (16,755 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”AheadThe John Deere 6620 has 26% more lift (1,580 kg / 3,483 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?4,735 kg (10,439 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”5,915 kg (13,040 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6620 is 25% heavier (1,180 kg / 2,601 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”9,500 kg (20,944 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?24Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”24 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6430 Premium and the 6620.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6430P”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”; OECD test report 2038, 2003EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2006–20112002–2007EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 6620 has 26% more lift (1,580 kg / 3,483 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 6620 is 25% heavier (1,180 kg / 2,601 lb) than the John Deere 6430 Premium (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6430 Premium has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources