John Deere 6120 or New Holland TS 90 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TS 90 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 6120 suits road haulage better on this data: 17% (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 6120 and New Holland TS 90 (A), with the call on each
Question6120TS 90 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?58.9 kW (79.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”58.9 kW (79.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TS 90 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6120 and the TS 90 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6120 and the TS 90 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?—72.7 L/min (19.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6120.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,650 kg (10,251 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”4,294 kg (9,467 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,315 kg (9,513 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”3,929 kg (8,662 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,000 kg (15,432 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”6,000 kg (13,228 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”AheadThe John Deere 6120 has 17% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the New Holland TS 90 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6120 and the TS 90 (A).
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1821, 1999540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6120.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”; OECD test report 1821, 1999; OECD test report 2028, 2002Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TS90”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2003–20061997–2003Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6120 is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 6120 has 17% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the New Holland TS 90 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 6120 is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TS 90 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources