John Deere 5500 (A) or ZETOR 6320/6340?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 5500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6320/6340 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 5500 (A) and ZETOR 6320/6340, with the call on each
Question5500 (A)6320/6340Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?53.7 kW (72.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”53.7 kW (72.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6320/6340 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5500 (A) and the 6320/6340.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5500 (A) and the 6320/6340.
Which pumps more oil for implements?62.5 L/min (16.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”40.2 L/min (10.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”AheadThe John Deere 5500 (A) has 55% more hydraulic flow (22.3 L/min / 5.9 gpm) than the ZETOR 6320/6340 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,725 kg (3,803 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”4,028 kg (8,880 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”AheadThe ZETOR 6320/6340 has 134% more lift (2,303 kg / 5,077 lb) than the John Deere 5500 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,573 kg (5,672 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”3,025 kg (6,669 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The ZETOR 6320/6340 is 18% heavier (452 kg / 996 lb) than the John Deere 5500 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?—5,600 kg (12,346 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5500 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?9 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”10 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5500 (A) and the 6320/6340.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”AheadThe ZETOR 6320/6340 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 5500 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6320/6340.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5500 (USA)”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 6320/6340”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1995–19971993–2007EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 5500 (A) has 55% more hydraulic flow (22.3 L/min / 5.9 gpm) than the ZETOR 6320/6340 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 6320/6340 has 134% more lift (2,303 kg / 5,077 lb) than the John Deere 5500 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 6320/6340 is 18% heavier (452 kg / 996 lb) than the John Deere 5500 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 6320/6340 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 5500 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6320/6340 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources