John Deere 5410 (A) or VALMET 665?

Which should you choose?

The figures split: the John Deere 5410 (A) is ahead on hydraulic flow; the VALMET 665 is ahead on three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 5410 (A) and VALMET 665, with the call on each
Question5410 (A)665Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?48.8 kW (65.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”49.0 kW (65.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5410 (A) and the 665.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5410 (A) and the 665.
Which pumps more oil for implements?61.7 L/min (16.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”52.4 L/min (13.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”AheadThe John Deere 5410 (A) has 18% more hydraulic flow (9.3 L/min / 2.5 gpm) than the VALMET 665 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,640 kg (3,616 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”2,580 kg (5,688 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”AheadThe VALMET 665 has 57% more lift (940 kg / 2,072 lb) than the John Deere 5410 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,721 kg (5,999 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”3,280 kg (7,231 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The VALMET 665 is 21% heavier (559 kg / 1,232 lb) than the John Deere 5410 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5410 (A) and the 665.
Which has the wider choice of gears?9 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5410 (A) and the 665.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”540E/540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 665.
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5410 (USA)”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 665”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1997–20001992–1997Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 5410 (A) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 5410 (A) has 18% more hydraulic flow (9.3 L/min / 2.5 gpm) than the VALMET 665 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The VALMET 665 has 57% more lift (940 kg / 2,072 lb) than the John Deere 5410 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The VALMET 665 is 21% heavier (559 kg / 1,232 lb) than the John Deere 5410 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 5410 (A) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources