John Deere 5103 or John Deere 5203?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 5103 and John Deere 5203, with the call on each
Question51035203Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?37.1 kW (49.8 hp)OECD Test 226637.9 kW (50.8 hp)OECD Test 2267EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5103 and the 5203.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?30.5 kW (40.9 hp)OECD Test 226630.6 kW (41.0 hp)OECD Test 2267EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which pumps more oil for implements?42.8 L/min (11.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”43.4 L/min (11.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,690 kg (3,726 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”1,690 kg (3,726 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,110 kg (4,652 lb) to 2,282 kg (5,031 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”2,140 kg (4,718 lb) to 2,287 kg (5,042 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5103 and the 5203.
Which has the wider choice of gears?9OECD test report 2266, 20059OECD test report 2267, 2005EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5103 and the 5203.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmOECD test report 2266, 2005540/1000 rpmOECD test report 2267, 2005EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 5103 and the 5203.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2003–20082003–2008EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources