John Deere 4640 (A) or SOMECA 1880 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 4640 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1880 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SOMECA 1880 (TD) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 78% (2,577 kg / 5,681 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The SOMECA 1880 (TD) suits road haulage better on this data: 19% (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 4640 (A) and SOMECA 1880 (TD), with the call on each
Question4640 (A)1880 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?130.8 kW (175.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”132.4 kW (177.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4640 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1880 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 4640 (A) and the 1880 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4640 (A) and the 1880 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?126 L/min (33.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1880 (TD).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,323 kg (7,326 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”5,900 kg (13,007 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”AheadThe SOMECA 1880 (TD) has 78% more lift (2,577 kg / 5,681 lb) than the John Deere 4640 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?6,510 kg (14,352 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”6,500 kg (14,330 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?8,430 kg (18,585 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”10,000 kg (22,046 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”AheadThe SOMECA 1880 (TD) has 19% higher maximum permissible mass (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) than the John Deere 4640 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 4640 (A) and the 1880 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1880”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1978–19821979–1983EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SOMECA 1880 (TD) has 78% more lift (2,577 kg / 5,681 lb) than the John Deere 4640 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 1880 (TD) has 19% higher maximum permissible mass (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) than the John Deere 4640 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4640 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1880 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources