John Deere 3050 (A) or Renault 921?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 3050 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 3050 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.
  • The John Deere 3050 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 3050 (A) and Renault 921, with the call on each
Question3050 (A)921Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 3050 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 3050 (A) and the 921.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 3050 (A) and the 921.
Which pumps more oil for implements?52.3 L/min (13.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 921.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,526 kg (9,978 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”4,590 kg (10,119 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,920 kg (8,642 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”3,850 kg (8,488 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?6,700 kg (14,771 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 921.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?—YesTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 3050 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”AheadThe John Deere 3050 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Renault 921 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 921.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3050”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”AheadThe John Deere 3050 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Renault 921 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1986–19931977–1980Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 3050 (A) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 3050 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Renault 921 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 3050 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Renault 921 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The John Deere 3050 (A) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 3050 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources