John Deere 2900 or John Deere 3055?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2900 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3055 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 2900 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 2900 and John Deere 3055, with the call on each
Question29003055Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?77.3 kW (103.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”77.3 kW (103.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2900 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3055 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2900 and the 3055.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2900 and the 3055.
Which pumps more oil for implements?91.5 L/min (24.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2900.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,460 kg (9,833 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 3055.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,180 kg (9,215 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”4,320 kg (9,524 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 3055.
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 18Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2900 and the 3055.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2900.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2900”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3055”AheadThe John Deere 2900 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 3055 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–19961992–1993EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2900 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 3055 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2900 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3055 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources