John Deere 2550 (A) or ZETOR 7211/7245?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7211/7245 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The ZETOR 7211/7245 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 15% (7.4 L/min / 2.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
- The John Deere 2550 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 2550 (A) | 7211/7245 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 48.6 kW (65.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 48.5 kW (65.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7211/7245 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2550 (A) and the 7211/7245. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2550 (A) and the 7211/7245. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 49.2 L/min (13.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 56.6 L/min (15.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | AheadThe ZETOR 7211/7245 has 15% more hydraulic flow (7.4 L/min / 2.0 gpm) than the John Deere 2550 (A) (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,670 kg (5,886 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7211/7245. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 3,460 kg (7,628 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 3,190 kg (7,033 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 4,800 kg (10,582 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 7211/7245. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 10 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2550 (A) and the 7211/7245. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | AheadThe John Deere 2550 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the ZETOR 7211/7245 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 7211” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1983–1986 | 1984–1993 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The ZETOR 7211/7245 has 15% more hydraulic flow (7.4 L/min / 2.0 gpm) than the John Deere 2550 (A) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 2550 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the ZETOR 7211/7245 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7211/7245 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources