John Deere 2400 (A) or Renault 85-34 MX?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 2400 (A) and Renault 85-34 MX, with the call on each
Question2400 (A)85-34 MXCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?53.5 kW (71.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”53.6 kW (71.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2400 (A) and the 85-34 MX.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2400 (A) and the 85-34 MX.
Which pumps more oil for implements?40.0 L/min (10.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”41.4 L/min (10.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,020 kg (8,863 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”3,825 kg (8,433 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”3,800 kg (8,378 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Renault 85-34 MX is 19% heavier (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the John Deere 2400 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?5,600 kg (12,346 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”6,000 kg (13,228 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?20Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2400 (A) and the 85-34 MX.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2400 (A).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2400”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 85-34 ME/MA/MS/MX R3162”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–19961989–1993EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Renault 85-34 MX is 19% heavier (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the John Deere 2400 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources