John Deere 2120 (A) or SOMECA 640 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 2120 (A): three-point lift.

  • The John Deere 2120 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 11% (210 kg / 463 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 2120 (A) and SOMECA 640 (TD), with the call on each
Question2120 (A)640 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?42.5 kW (57.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”42.7 kW (57.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2120 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2120 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?28.6 L/min (7.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 640 (TD).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,040 kg (4,497 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”1,830 kg (4,034 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”AheadThe John Deere 2120 (A) has 11% more lift (210 kg / 463 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,887 kg (6,365 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”2,125 kg (4,685 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2120 (A) is 36% heavier (762 kg / 1,680 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,500 kg (9,921 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 640 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2120 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 640 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2120”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1968–19721973–1982Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SOMECA 640 (TD) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2120 (A) has 11% more lift (210 kg / 463 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2120 (A) is 36% heavier (762 kg / 1,680 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 640 (TD) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources