John Deere 1950 (A) or John Deere 2250 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1950 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2250 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 2250 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 29% (628 kg / 1,385 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The John Deere 2250 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 14% (600 kg / 1,323 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 1950 (A) and John Deere 2250 (A), with the call on each
Question1950 (A)2250 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?45.6 kW (61.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”45.6 kW (61.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1950 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2250 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1950 (A) and the 2250 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1950 (A) and the 2250 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?50.2 L/min (13.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”52.7 L/min (13.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,172 kg (4,788 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”AheadThe John Deere 2250 (A) has 29% more lift (628 kg / 1,385 lb) than the John Deere 1950 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,790 kg (6,151 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”3,050 kg (6,724 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”4,800 kg (10,582 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”AheadThe John Deere 2250 (A) has 14% higher maximum permissible mass (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the John Deere 1950 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1950 (A) and the 2250 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1950”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2250”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1987–19941986–1994EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2250 (A) has 29% more lift (628 kg / 1,385 lb) than the John Deere 1950 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2250 (A) has 14% higher maximum permissible mass (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the John Deere 1950 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1950 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2250 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources