John Deere 1020 or SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Atlanta 45 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 1020 and SAME Atlanta 45 (DT), with the call on each
Question1020Atlanta 45 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.4 kW (43.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”32.4 kW (43.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Atlanta 45 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1020 and the Atlanta 45 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1020 and the Atlanta 45 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?—12.0 L/min (3.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1020.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Atlanta 45 (DT).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,240 kg (4,938 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”1,640 kg (3,616 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 1020 is 37% heavier (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?3,500 kg (7,716 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Atlanta 45 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”6 to 9Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1020 and the Atlanta 45 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”AheadThe John Deere 1020 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1020.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Atlanta 45 (DT)”AheadThe SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 1020 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1965–19751966–1970EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 1020 is 37% heavier (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 1020 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The SAME Atlanta 45 (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 1020 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Atlanta 45 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources