John Deere 1020 OU or John Deere 1020 VU?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1020 OU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 VU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 1020 OU and John Deere 1020 VU, with the call on each
Question1020 OU1020 VUCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.4 kW (43.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”32.4 kW (43.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1020 OU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 VU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1020 OU and the 1020 VU.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1020 OU and the 1020 VU.
Which pumps more oil for implements?25.0 L/min (6.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”26.6 L/min (7.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,026 kg (4,467 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”1,685 kg (3,715 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 1020 OU is 20% heavier (341 kg / 752 lb) than the John Deere 1020 VU (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?3,500 kg (7,716 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1020 OU and the 1020 VU.
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 OU”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020 VU”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1967–19721967–1972EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 1020 OU is 20% heavier (341 kg / 752 lb) than the John Deere 1020 VU (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1020 OU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 VU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources