J.I. Case 630 or OLIVER 1355 (4 WD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the J.I. Case 630: hydraulic flow. On features, the OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) is ahead on drive.

  • The J.I. Case 630 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 61% (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 630 and OLIVER 1355 (4 WD), with the call on each
Question6301355 (4 WD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?35.4 kW (47.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 630”35.1 kW (47.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 630 and the 1355 (4 WD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 630 and the 1355 (4 WD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.2 L/min (9.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 630”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”AheadThe J.I. Case 630 has 61% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 630 and the 1355 (4 WD).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,103 kg (4,636 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 630”2,000 kg (4,409 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 630 and the 1355 (4 WD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 630”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 630 and the 1355 (4 WD).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 630”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 630”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 630”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1355 (4 WD).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 630”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1355”AheadThe OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 630 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1960–19691969–1971Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 630 has 61% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 630 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The OLIVER 1355 (4 WD) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources