J.I. Case 540 or OLIVER 1265?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the J.I. Case 540: hydraulic flow. On features, the OLIVER 1265 is ahead on drive.

  • The J.I. Case 540 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 61% (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The OLIVER 1265 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 540 and OLIVER 1265, with the call on each
Question5401265Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?28.5 kW (38.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 540”28.7 kW (38.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 540 and the 1265.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 540 and the 1265.
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.2 L/min (9.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 540”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”AheadThe J.I. Case 540 has 61% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the OLIVER 1265 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 540 and the 1265.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,814 kg (3,999 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 540”1,870 kg (4,123 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 540 and the 1265.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 540”6 to 9Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 540.
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 540”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 540”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 540.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 540”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1265”AheadThe OLIVER 1265 is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 540 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1960–19691971–1975Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The OLIVER 1265 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 540 has 61% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the OLIVER 1265 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The OLIVER 1265 is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 540 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The OLIVER 1265 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources