J.I. Case 401 or John Deere 2020 OU?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the J.I. Case 401: hydraulic flow.

  • The J.I. Case 401 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 83% (20.6 L/min / 5.4 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 401 and John Deere 2020 OU, with the call on each
Question4012020 OUCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?36.8 kW (49.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401”37.1 kW (49.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 401 and the 2020 OU.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 401 and the 2020 OU.
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401”24.8 L/min (6.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”AheadThe J.I. Case 401 has 83% more hydraulic flow (20.6 L/min / 5.4 gpm) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 401.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,986 kg (6,583 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401”2,340 kg (5,159 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 401 is 28% heavier (646 kg / 1,424 lb) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 401.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 401 and the 2020 OU.
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 401”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 401.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 401”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1955–19571967–1972Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2020 OU is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 401 has 83% more hydraulic flow (20.6 L/min / 5.4 gpm) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 401 is 28% heavier (646 kg / 1,424 lb) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2020 OU is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources