J.I. Case 2090 or John Deere 7400 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2090 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 7400 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 23% (18.5 L/min / 4.9 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The John Deere 7400 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 2090 and John Deere 7400 (A), with the call on each
Question20907400 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?88.3 kW (118.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”88.3 kW (118.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2090 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2090 and the 7400 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2090 and the 7400 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?79.5 L/min (21.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”98.0 L/min (25.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”AheadThe John Deere 7400 (A) has 23% more hydraulic flow (18.5 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the J.I. Case 2090 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,500 kg (9,921 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7400 (A).
Which is heavier, for traction?5,402 kg (11,909 lb) to 5,457 kg (12,031 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”5,744 kg (12,663 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?—9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2090.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2090 and the 7400 (A).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2090”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”AheadThe John Deere 7400 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 2090 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1978–19831993–1997Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 7400 (A) is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 7400 (A) has 23% more hydraulic flow (18.5 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the J.I. Case 2090 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 7400 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 2090 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The John Deere 7400 (A) is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2090 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources