J.I. Case 1694 or OLIVER 1870?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the OLIVER 1870 is ahead on forward gears; the J.I. Case 1694 is ahead on PTO speeds and drive.

  • The J.I. Case 1694 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 540 rpm.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 1694 and OLIVER 1870, with the call on each
Question16941870Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?73.8 kW (99.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”73.7 kW (98.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 1870.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 1870.
Which pumps more oil for implements?66.0 L/min (17.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1694.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,630 kg (8,003 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 1870.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,350 kg (9,590 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”5,470 kg (12,059 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The OLIVER 1870 is 26% heavier (1,120 kg / 2,469 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 1870.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”18Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”AheadThe OLIVER 1870 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1694 and the 1870.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”AheadThe J.I. Case 1694 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the OLIVER 1870 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1694 and the 1870.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1870”AheadThe J.I. Case 1694 is available with four-wheel drive; the OLIVER 1870 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19851973–1974Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 1694 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The OLIVER 1870 is 26% heavier (1,120 kg / 2,469 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The OLIVER 1870 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 1694 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the OLIVER 1870 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The J.I. Case 1694 is available with four-wheel drive; the OLIVER 1870 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The J.I. Case 1694 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources