J.I. Case 1490 (DT) or John Deere 2140 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1490 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2140 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 1490 (DT) and John Deere 2140 (A), with the call on each
Question1490 (DT)2140 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?61 kW (82 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”60.4 kW (81.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1490 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2140 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1490 (DT) and the 2140 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1490 (DT) and the 2140 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?47.0 L/min (12.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1490 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,019 kg (4,451 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”3,630 kg (8,003 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 1490 (DT): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”); the 2140 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,340 kg (7,363 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”3,050 kg (6,724 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?5,400 kg (11,905 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1490 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1490 (DT) and the 2140 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”AheadThe J.I. Case 1490 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 2140 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1490 (DT).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1980–19841979–1986EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 1490 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 2140 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1490 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2140 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 1490 (DT): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1490”); the 2140 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2140”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources