J.I. Case 1294 (DT) or J.I. Case 1494 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the J.I. Case 1494 (DT) is ahead on PTO speeds.

  • The J.I. Case 1494 (DT) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 1294 (DT) and J.I. Case 1494 (DT), with the call on each
Question1294 (DT)1494 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?41.2 kW (55.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”41.1 kW (55.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1294 (DT) and the 1494 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1294 (DT) and the 1494 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?27.3 L/min (7.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1494 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,345 kg (2,965 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”1,456 kg (3,210 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,865 kg (6,316 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”3,345 kg (7,374 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 1494 (DT) is 17% heavier (480 kg / 1,058 lb) than the J.I. Case 1294 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1294 (DT) and the 1494 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1294 (DT) and the 1494 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”AheadThe J.I. Case 1494 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 1294 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1294 (DT).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1494”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19851984–1985EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 1494 (DT) is 17% heavier (480 kg / 1,058 lb) than the J.I. Case 1294 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 1494 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 1294 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources