International Harvester A/AV or International Harvester B/BN?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | A/AV | B/BN | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 12.8 kW (17.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-A” | 12.4 kW (16.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-B” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 848 kg (1,870 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-A” | 830 kg (1,830 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-B” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 4Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-A” | 4Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-B” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 15 km/h (9.3 mph) to 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-A” | 17 km/h (10.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-B” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 541 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-A” | 541 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-B” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the A/AV and the B/BN. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-A”; Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-A”; Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-A” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-B”; Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-B”; Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-B” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1939–1948 | 1940–1948 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources