International Harvester 986 or OLIVER 1950 (4 WD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the International Harvester 986 is ahead on top speed.

  • The International Harvester 986 suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester 986 and OLIVER 1950 (4 WD), with the call on each
Question9861950 (4 WD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?77.7 kW (104.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”77.8 kW (104.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 986 and the 1950 (4 WD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 986 and the 1950 (4 WD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”44.5 L/min (11.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,655 kg (5,853 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 1950 (4 WD).
Which is heavier, for traction?5,910 kg (13,029 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”5,885 kg (12,974 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 986 and the 1950 (4 WD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”6 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 986 and the 1950 (4 WD).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”AheadThe International Harvester 986 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the OLIVER 1950 (4 WD) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”549/984 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the 1950 (4 WD).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 986 and the 1950 (4 WD).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 986”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1950”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1976–19811964–1974Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester 986 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The International Harvester 986 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the OLIVER 1950 (4 WD) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The International Harvester 986 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources