International Harvester 686 or SAME Jaguar 95 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) is ahead on PTO speeds and drive.

  • The SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.
  • The SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester 686 and SAME Jaguar 95 (DT), with the call on each
Question686Jaguar 95 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?49.4 kW (66.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”49.2 kW (66.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 686 and the Jaguar 95 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 686 and the Jaguar 95 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.5 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Jaguar 95 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?—4,240 kg (9,348 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 686.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,719 kg (8,199 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”3,610 kg (7,959 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 686 and the Jaguar 95 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?5 to 10Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 686 and the Jaguar 95 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”AheadThe SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the International Harvester 686 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 686.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 686”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Jaguar 95”AheadThe SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester 686 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1976–19801979–1982EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the International Harvester 686 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The SAME Jaguar 95 (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester 686 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources