International Harvester 1586 or John Deere 4640 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 4640 (A): hydraulic flow. It is also ahead on forward gears.

  • The John Deere 4640 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 178% (80.6 L/min / 21.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester 1586 and John Deere 4640 (A), with the call on each
Question15864640 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?116.4 kW (156.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”115.6 kW (155.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1586 and the 4640 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1586 and the 4640 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”126 L/min (33.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”AheadThe John Deere 4640 (A) has 178% more hydraulic flow (80.6 L/min / 21.3 gpm) than the International Harvester 1586 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,210 kg (7,077 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”3,323 kg (7,326 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?6,858 kg (15,119 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”6,510 kg (14,352 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?8,430 kg (18,585 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1586.
Which has the wider choice of gears?6 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”AheadThe John Deere 4640 (A) has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the International Harvester 1586 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1586 and the 4640 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1586.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1586”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 4640”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1976–19811978–1982EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 4640 (A) has 178% more hydraulic flow (80.6 L/min / 21.3 gpm) than the International Harvester 1586 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 4640 (A) has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the International Harvester 1586 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources