International Harvester 1456 or International Harvester 1466?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 1456 | 1466 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 94.9 kW (127.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 93.3 kW (125.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1466” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1456 and the 1466. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1456 and the 1466. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 45.5 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1456. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,000 kg (4,409 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 2,630 kg (5,798 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466” | Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 1456: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456”); the 1466: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 5,806 kg (12,800 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 6,114 kg (13,479 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1466” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1456 and the 1466. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1456 and the 1466. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1466” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1456 and the 1466. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1466” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1969–1971 | 1971–1976 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on three-point lift: the 1456: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1456”); the 1466: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 1466”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources