International Harvester 1246 or International Harvester 1256?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 1246 | 1256 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 85.0 kW (113.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 84.5 kW (113.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1246 and the 1256. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1246 and the 1256. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 40.0 L/min (10.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1256. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 3,700 kg (8,157 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 2,000 kg (4,409 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 1246: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246”); the 1256: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 4,450 kg (9,811 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 4,720 kg (10,406 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1246 and the 1256. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1246 and the 1256. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 32 km/h (19.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1256. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1972–1979 | 1967–1969 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester 1246 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The International Harvester 1246 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on three-point lift: the 1246: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1246”); the 1256: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 1256”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources