International Harvester Farmall 404 or International Harvester International 424?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the International Harvester International 424: hydraulic flow.

  • The International Harvester International 424 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 34% (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester Farmall 404 and International Harvester International 424, with the call on each
QuestionFarmall 404International 424Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?27.0 kW (36.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”26.8 kW (36.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Farmall 404 and the International 424.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Farmall 404 and the International 424.
Which pumps more oil for implements?17.0 L/min (4.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”22.7 L/min (6.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”AheadThe International Harvester International 424 has 34% more hydraulic flow (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) than the International Harvester Farmall 404 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?——No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Farmall 404 and the International 424.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,867 kg (4,116 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”1,839 kg (4,054 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Farmall 404 and the International 424.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 8Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”8Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmall 404 and the International 424.
Which is faster on the road?24 km/h (14.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?542 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Farmall 404.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the International 424.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 404”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 424”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1961–19681964–1967EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The International Harvester International 424 has 34% more hydraulic flow (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) than the International Harvester Farmall 404 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources