International Harvester Farmall 240 or J.I. Case 440?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the J.I. Case 440: hydraulic flow.
- The J.I. Case 440 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 41% (9.4 L/min / 2.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Farmall 240 | 440 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 24.1 kW (32.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 240” | 24.3 kW (32.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Farmall 240 and the 440. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Farmall 240 and the 440. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 22.8 L/min (6.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 240” | 32.2 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | AheadThe J.I. Case 440 has 41% more hydraulic flow (9.4 L/min / 2.5 gpm) than the International Harvester Farmall 240 (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Farmall 240 and the 440. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 1,707 kg (3,763 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall 240” | 1,415 kg (3,120 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester Farmall 240 is 21% heavier (292 kg / 644 lb) than the J.I. Case 440 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Farmall 240 and the 440. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 4Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall 240” | 4 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmall 240 and the 440. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 23 km/h (14.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 240” | 20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 539 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 240” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Farmall 240. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Farmall 240. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall 240”; Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 240” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 440” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1958–1961 | 1960–1969 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The J.I. Case 440 has 41% more hydraulic flow (9.4 L/min / 2.5 gpm) than the International Harvester Farmall 240 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The International Harvester Farmall 240 is 21% heavier (292 kg / 644 lb) than the J.I. Case 440 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources