International Harvester D-326 or Nuffield 4/25 (425)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the D-326 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Nuffield 4/25 (425) suits road haulage better on this data: 25% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester D-326 and Nuffield 4/25 (425), with the call on each
QuestionD-3264/25 (425)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?19.1 kW (25.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”18.6 kW (24.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D-326 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D-326 and the 4/25 (425).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D-326 and the 4/25 (425).
Which pumps more oil for implements?14.5 L/min (3.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D-326.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,500 kg (3,307 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”454 kg (1,001 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the D-326: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”); the 4/25 (425): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,565 kg (3,450 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”1,007 kg (2,220 lb) to 1,056 kg (2,328 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester D-326 is 48% heavier (509 kg / 1,122 lb) than the Nuffield 4/25 (425) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the D-326 and the 4/25 (425).
Which has the wider choice of gears?6 to 8Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”9Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 4/25 (425).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”AheadThe Nuffield 4/25 (425) has 25% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the International Harvester D-326 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 4/25 (425).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1962–19661968–1969Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Nuffield 4/25 (425) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The International Harvester D-326 is 48% heavier (509 kg / 1,122 lb) than the Nuffield 4/25 (425) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Nuffield 4/25 (425) has 25% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the International Harvester D-326 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Nuffield 4/25 (425) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D-326 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4/25 (425) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the D-326: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick D-326 Standard”); the 4/25 (425): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 4/25 (1968-1969)”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources