IMT 545 De Luxe or IMT 549 (DV-E)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the IMT 549 (DV-E) is ahead on top speed.
- The IMT 549 (DV-E) suits road haulage better on this data: 15% (4.0 km/h / 2.5 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 545 De Luxe | 549 (DV-E) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 29.3 kW (39.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 28.8 kW (38.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 545 De Luxe and the 549 (DV-E). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 545 De Luxe and the 549 (DV-E). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 15.8 L/min (4.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 15.6 L/min (4.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 1,438 kg (3,170 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 1,417 kg (3,124 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,225 kg (4,905 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 2,090 kg (4,608 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 545 De Luxe and the 549 (DV-E). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 6 to 10Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 10Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 545 De Luxe and the 549 (DV-E). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 26 km/h (16.2 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | AheadThe IMT 549 (DV-E) has 15% more top speed (4.0 km/h / 2.5 mph) than the IMT 545 De Luxe (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 545 De Luxe and the 549 (DV-E). |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 545” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 549” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1986–1996 | 1986–1996 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The IMT 549 (DV-E) has 15% more top speed (4.0 km/h / 2.5 mph) than the IMT 545 De Luxe (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources