HELA D 40 or Kramer KB 22 W?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the D 40 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the KB 22 W has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for HELA D 40 and Kramer KB 22 W, with the call on each
QuestionD 40KB 22 WCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?16.1 kW (21.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”16 kW (21 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 40 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the KB 22 W has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which pumps more oil for implements?16 L/min (4.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D 40.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,400 kg (3,086 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”1,460 kg (3,219 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4Traktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”5Traktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which is faster on the road?19.3 km/h (12.0 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”360/631/968 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the KB 22 W.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the D 40 and the KB 22 W.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “HELA D40 (1939-1943)”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Kramer KB 22 W”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1939–19431954–1957Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Kramer KB 22 W is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Kramer KB 22 W is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 40 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the KB 22 W has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources