Hanomag Robust 901 (S) or International Harvester Farmall 826?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 suits road haulage better on this data: 10% (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag Robust 901 (S) and International Harvester Farmall 826, with the call on each
QuestionRobust 901 (S)Farmall 826Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?67 kW (90 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Robust 901 (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Robust 901 (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which pumps more oil for implements?——No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Robust 901 (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,000 kg (6,614 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Farmall 826.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,200 kg (7,055 lb) to 3,490 kg (7,694 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”4,472 kg (9,859 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester Farmall 826 is 28% heavier (982 kg / 2,165 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Robust 901 (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester Farmall 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”—No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmall 826.
Which is faster on the road?19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”AheadThe International Harvester Farmall 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Robust 901 (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1969–19701969–1971EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 is 28% heavier (982 kg / 2,165 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • Transmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester Farmall 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources