Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) or Renault 921?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) and Renault 921, with the call on each
QuestionRobust 901 A (S)921Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?68 kW (91 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 921.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 921.
Which pumps more oil for implements?32 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 921.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,590 kg (10,119 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,730 kg (8,223 lb) to 4,030 kg (8,885 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”3,850 kg (8,488 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 921.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Robust 901 A (S).
Which is faster on the road?19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 921.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 921 R7681”AheadThe Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the Renault 921 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1969–19701977–1980Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Renault 921 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the Renault 921 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The Renault 921 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 921 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources