Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) or International Harvester 826?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The International Harvester 826 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 42% (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
- The International Harvester 826 suits road haulage better on this data: 10% (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Robust 901 A (S) | 826 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 68 kW (91 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 826. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 826. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 32 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | AheadThe International Harvester 826 has 42% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 826. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 3,730 kg (8,223 lb) to 4,030 kg (8,885 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 4,472 kg (9,859 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester 826 is 11% heavier (442 kg / 974 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 826. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Robust 901 A (S) and the 826. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | AheadThe International Harvester 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 826. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 826” | AheadThe Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester 826 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources). |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1969–1970 | 1969–1971 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The International Harvester 826 has 42% more hydraulic flow (13.4 L/min / 3.5 gpm) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The International Harvester 826 is 11% heavier (442 kg / 974 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The International Harvester 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester 826 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
- Transmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources