Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) or International Harvester Farmall 826?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 suits road haulage better on this data: 10% (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) and International Harvester Farmall 826, with the call on each
QuestionRobust 901 A (S)Farmall 826Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?68 kW (91 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which pumps more oil for implements?32 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Farmall 826.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?——No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,730 kg (8,223 lb) to 4,030 kg (8,885 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”4,472 kg (9,859 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The International Harvester Farmall 826 is 11% heavier (442 kg / 974 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Robust 901 A (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 forwardTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”Stepless (CVT)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”DifferTransmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester Farmall 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Robust 901 A (S) and the Farmall 826.
Which is faster on the road?19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”AheadThe International Harvester Farmall 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Farmall 826.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 A (S)”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall 826”AheadThe Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester Farmall 826 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1969–19701969–1971EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 is 11% heavier (442 kg / 974 lb) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The International Harvester Farmall 826 has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester Farmall 826 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Transmissions differ in kind: the Hanomag Robust 901 A (S) has 12 forward gears and the International Harvester Farmall 826 is stepless (CVT) — not called.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Robust 901 A (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Farmall 826 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources