Hanomag RD 36 or MASSEY-HARRIS 202?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 202 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag RD 36 and MASSEY-HARRIS 202, with the call on each
QuestionRD 36202Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?26.4 kW (35.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”27.2 kW (36.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 202 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,750 kg (6,063 lb) to 3,800 kg (8,378 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”2,948 kg (6,499 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which has the wider choice of gears?3Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”4Traktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which is faster on the road?8 km/h (5.0 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the RD 36.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the RD 36 and the 202.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Massey-Harris Massey-Harris 202”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1931–19361940–1942Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The MASSEY-HARRIS 202 is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The MASSEY-HARRIS 202 is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 202 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources