Hanomag RD 36 or Lanz FMD?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the FMD has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The Hanomag RD 36 suits road haulage better on this data: 16% (1.1 km/h / 0.7 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | RD 36 | FMD | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 26.4 kW (35.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36” | 27.8 kW (37.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Lanz Feldmotor-FMD” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the FMD has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,750 kg (6,063 lb) to 3,800 kg (8,378 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36” | 3,800 kg (8,378 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Lanz Feldmotor-FMD” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 3Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36” | 3Traktorenlexikon, “Lanz Feldmotor-FMD” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 8 km/h (5.0 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36” | 6.9 km/h (4.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Lanz Feldmotor-FMD” | AheadThe Hanomag RD 36 has 16% more top speed (1.1 km/h / 0.7 mph) than the Lanz FMD (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the RD 36 and the FMD. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Lanz Feldmotor-FMD” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1931–1936 | 1921–1925 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Hanomag RD 36 is newer: production began 10 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Hanomag RD 36 has 16% more top speed (1.1 km/h / 0.7 mph) than the Lanz FMD (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The Hanomag RD 36 is newer: production began 10 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the FMD has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources