Hanomag RD 36 or John Deere Model G?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model G has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Hanomag RD 36 and John Deere Model G, with the call on each
QuestionRD 36Model GCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?26.4 kW (35.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”26.8 kW (35.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model G has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,750 kg (6,063 lb) to 3,800 kg (8,378 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”1,996 kg (4,400 lb) to 2,551 kg (5,624 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which has the wider choice of gears?3Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”4 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which is faster on the road?8 km/h (5.0 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”10 km/h (6.2 mph) to 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?532 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the RD 36 and the Model G.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the RD 36.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag RD 36”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere Modell G”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1931–19361937–1953Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere Model G is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere Model G is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the RD 36 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Model G has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources