Güldner G 45 (S) or John Deere 1020?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the G 45 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Güldner G 45 (S) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 18% (290 kg / 639 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Güldner G 45 (S) and John Deere 1020, with the call on each
QuestionG 45 (S)1020Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.9 kW (44.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”32.4 kW (43.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the G 45 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the G 45 (S) and the 1020.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the G 45 (S) and the 1020.
Which pumps more oil for implements?——No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the G 45 (S) and the 1020.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,910 kg (4,211 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”AheadThe Güldner G 45 (S) has 18% more lift (290 kg / 639 lb) than the John Deere 1020 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,095 kg (4,619 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”2,240 kg (4,938 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?3,400 kg (7,496 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”3,500 kg (7,716 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the G 45 (S) and the 1020.
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1020.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Güldner G 45”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1020”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1965–19691965–1975EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Güldner G 45 (S) has 18% more lift (290 kg / 639 lb) than the John Deere 1020 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the G 45 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources